Anabaptism at 500 announces advisory group members

HARRISONBURG, VA — In February, MennoMedia put out a call for members to join the advisory group for Anabaptism at 500. Nearly 50 qualified people applied, and eight were chosen to serve for the next three years. The advisory group will offer their expertise and perspectives in various meetings and subcommittees and ensure that Anabaptism at 500 remains in close conversation with the varied congregations that MennoMedia serves. Their first meeting was held on April 28, 2022.

“We want to pay close attention to what the church is looking for—not just as we work on the Anabaptist Community Bible, but for all the projects related to Anabaptism at 500,” said John Roth, project director.

The advisory group members bring unique perspectives, as well as valuable experience and expertise that will enhance the suite of products being created. The group was chosen to represent a wide range of congregations and people and was approved by the Anabaptism at 500 Steering Committee.

The eight advisory group members are Sarah Augustine (Yakima Valley, WA), Sandra Baez (Kitchener, ON), Korey Dyck (Winnipeg, MB), Rev. Dr. Dennis R. Edwards (Chicago, IL), Gerald J. Mast (Bluffton, OH), Jonny Rashid (Philadelphia, PA), Sara Wenger Shenk (Waynesboro, VA), and Lisa Weaver (Madison, WI). They will serve alongside three MennoMedia staff members: Joe Hackman, John D. Roth, and Mollee Moua.

“We hope this process will enable a wide range of folks to share in the Anabaptism at 500 vision, and that doing so will contribute to the renewal of the Anabaptist-Mennonite church today,” said Roth.

For more information, contact LeAnn Hamby at 540‑908‑3941 or